Three Ugandan female Scientists scoop EAC Inter-University Council support

Three Ugandan female Scientists scoop EAC Inter-University Council scholarship

Three Ugandan female Scientists scoop EAC Inter-University Council support: Three female Ugandan students have been awarded scholarship by the Inter-University Council for East Africa (IUCEA) under the Regional Facilitation Unit for Africa Higher Education Centers of Excellence (ACE II) Project, to study master degrees in science related fields.

The three Ugandan students   are among other students from nine countries that have been also awarded opportunity to study Master of Science in various disciplines under the ACE 11 project which is co-funded by World Bank.

The Ugandan students are Atugonza Stella she will be studying master of sciences in Petroleum Engineering at the University of Eduardo Mondlane in Mozambique, the second student is Mpagi Eva she will be studying masters of science in Data Science at the University of Rwanda and lastly from Uganda Mambwe Josephine, she will be taking master of sciences in Aquaculture at the Lilongwe University in Zambia.

Other beneficiaries come from Ethiopia, Zambia, Tanzania, Rwanda, Malawi, Kenya and Lastly Burundi. The ACE11 project offered    30 fellowships scholarship for the 2018/2019 academic year and another 30 will be announced next year 2019/2020.

On May 4, 2018, the Inter-University Council for East Africa (IUCEA), the Regional Facilitation Unit for the Africa Higher Education Centers of Excellence (ACE II) Project announced a call for applications for Masters fellowships targeting female students in the nine participating countries of Burundi, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Zambia, Uganda, Mozambique and Malawi.

The aim of the competitive scholarship is to enhance the participation of young African female scientists at postgraduate level, encourage regional student mobility and identify and cultivate future leaders in the region.

Commenting on the development, Prof. Goolam Mohamedbhai, the Chairperson of the Independent Selection Panel advised the beneficiaries to utilize the opportunity being offered to them by the University council.

“We congratulate the successful applicants and extend to them our best wishes for success in their studies. We have no doubt that when they return to their country of origin after completing their studies, they will play meaningful leadership roles at national and regional levels in identified priority science and technology areas for Africa” He said in statement.

He added that the selected students will study full time at any of the 24 ACEs in the priority disciplines of the ACE II Project, namely: (i) STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) or Industry, (ii) Agriculture, (iii) Health, (iv) Education and (v) Applied Statistics.

The Scholarship will cover cost for tuition, stipend, research, visa fees, laptop, books/stationeries and a round trip air ticket between the beneficiary’s home country and the study destination.

Some of the participating universities under the ACE 11 Project include Moi University, University of Malawi, Nelson Mandela Africa Institute of Science and Technology, among others.